Framing Memories – Why I Scrapbook

I inherited many of my hobbies from my Mom.  She is a crafting genius, seriously, she taught me how to crochet, sew, cross stitch and scrapbook.  I love making things, I think that’s half of the reason I’m an architecture major, and my mom shares this love.  She is my go-to when I’m brainstorming ideas about a particular craft project I’m working on, and is always up for a trip to the craft store.  My mom inspired me to start scrapbooking because I always loved looking through her beautifully composed albums of our family.

Scrapbook_03

Most recent scrapbook page – in process

My mom has done scrapbooking for as long as I can remember.  Each of my brothers and I have scrapbooks from when we were younger as my mom would print out ALL of her pictures and put them into scrapbooks.  She did a lot with the Creative Memories brand and took a break from scrapbooking as she got busier.  I think scrapbooking has changed a lot since my mom was scrapping but a lot of my scrapbook inspiration is based on looking through my mom’s albums.

Scrapbook_01

When you first start scrapbooking, you have to adopt your own style for which is definitely not an easy task.  In fact, I think it takes a scrapbook or two to really figure out what you’re doing.  That said I’m definitely not an expert, but I’m learning and hoping to share some things I’m learning as I go.  I scrapbook very simply, often I’ll browse pinterest or other sites for inspiration and every page is filled with one tiny picture buried under embellishments.  I, however, have a modernized version of my mom’s scrapbooking style.  Our philosophy is to let the pictures shine through!  Scrapbooking is all about framing memories, and I think that’s hard to do when you use the pictures as minor design elements.  My mom’s scrapbooks were very simple, most pages just have white or single-color backgrounds, but that really allowed her to use embellishments and color to highlight the pictures, which is something I try to do too. Scrapbook_02

I actually started out with stamping, not scrapbooking.  I would use scrapbooking supplies to make birthday/valentines cards and I enjoyed doing that, so one year I decided to make an album for my boyfriend as a gift.  One winter break, I created an entire album, and I was hooked.  I love to scrapbook because it gives me practice creating graphically appealing layouts, which is a skill I use every day in for architecture.  It also allows me to display the pictures I take with my friends and family.  I hate the idea of my pictures only seeing my computer’s hard drive and maybe a couple albums on Facebook.  Scrapbooking enhances the artistry of the pictures and helps me focus my picture-taking to the stories I want to tell in my scrapbooks.  Scrapbooking is one of my favorite hobbies because it adds a compelling story to the pictures and captures my life how it is in the moment, and not just captures what is happening, but also my writing style and my design style.  I always get a kick out of looking back and seeing how my layouts change and improve over the years.

Any other scrapbookers out there? How did you get started?

 

 

One thought on “Framing Memories – Why I Scrapbook

  1. Beautifully written, Cozy. We are of like-minds when it comes to scrapbooking. I love creating scrapbook pages. It gives dimension to photos and allows you to enhance your feelings and experiences surrounding the events in the photos. You don’t have the same experience just looking at a photo on a screen.

Leave a Reply

