DIY Apartment Decoration: Turn an Accent Table into a Footstool

Before and After

 

I needed to buy a footstool for my apartment because I use them all the time, and I shopped around a lot and couldn’t find any I liked within my price range ($20-$35).  So, I decided to make my own!  I found these awesome short accent tables at target (they are only sold in stores unfortunately, so I can’t link to the table I used) and, with help from my mom, made it into a cute footstool.  

You’ll Need:

  • Round Accent Table
  • Screwdriver
  • 2in Thick Foam (enough to cover entire surface of stool)
  • Heavy Duty Fabric – I recommend upholstry fabric, or outdoor fabric (enough to cover top and sides of stool +2in of foam + 6 extra inches for stapling)
  • Scissors
  • Iron
  • Staple Gun (and 1/4″ staples)
  • Hot Glue (optional)
  • Screwdriver

1. Remove legs from accent table

IMG_7163 (1)

2. Measure and cut foam to fit onto the top of the table.  Measure, cut and iron your fabric, leaving plenty of extra on each side.  Lay fabric upside down, then place foam and table top (also upside down) on top.  

 

 IMG_7167

 

3. Staple 4 sides of the fabric in to the center (making sure the fabric won’t cover the screw holes for the legs).  If your staples aren’t going all the way into the wood, try using smaller staples.  (We had this issue and smaller staples worked much better for us)

IMG_7169 (1)

 

4. Here’s where it gets a little tricky.  Once you have 4 sides of the fabric stapled, you’ll need to do the fabric in between and ideally not have the fabric be super wrinkly all the way around the edge of the stool.  What we did was have one person pull the fabric tight until there were no folds on the edge and then the other person would staple it down.  You may just have to experiment a little.  I recommend doing small sections at a time and using lots of staples. 

IMG_7171 (2)IMG_7175 (1)

 5. Reattach the legs, and put your feet up!  Enjoy your new footstool.

photo (3)

Leave a Reply

